### City of Fort Wayne Budget in Brief 2006 Introduction

### **About This Report**

The purpose of this report is to provide a brief description about how City government is organized in Fort Wayne and to describe the City budget process. This report will give the reader an overview of the financial operations and structure of City government.

Each year, the City of Fort Wayne prepares the Operating Budget book that contains the detailed budgetary information relating to each department of the City. Because the budget book is long and detailed, we will highlight and summarize it in this report.

Comments and suggestions about this report are welcomed by the City Controller. Individuals and organizations can best express concerns about City government by contacting people directly responsible for your area of interest. A list of the City departments is detailed in this report.

# **Form of Government**

Fort Wayne is governed under a Mayor-Council form of government where the elected Mayor serves as head of the executive branch. The Mayor may serve unlimited four-year terms and is the chief executive officer for the City. The legislative oversight body for the City is the Common Council of the City of Fort Wayne. The council is composed of nine elected Council members who serve four-year terms. A council member represents each of the six councilmanic districts and three are elected at-large. The City Clerk's office provides City Council staff support if needed under the direction of the City Clerk. The City Clerk is elected by the citizens of Fort Wayne every four years and can serve unlimited terms.

#### **MAYOR**

**Graham Richard** 

#### CITY CLERK

Sandra E. Kennedy

## **CITY COUNCIL MEMBERS**

District 1	Thomas Smith
District 2	Donald J. Schmidt
District 3	Thomas Didier
District 4	Thomas E. Hayhurst
District 5	Timothy M. Pape
District 6	Glynn A. Hines
At-Large	John N. Crawford
At-Large	John Shoaff
At-Large	Samuel J. Talarico, Jr.